

ASSOCIATION OF AUSTRALIAN FOOTBALL CLUBS

Level 1, 401 Malvern Road South Yarra VIC 3141

e: assoc.FCA@gmail.com

w: www.australianfootballclubs.org.au

MEDIA RELEASE

21 June 2017

The Association of Australian Football Clubs, with 110 NPL club members, will next month hold its inaugural Annual General Meeting where members are expected to ratify the organisation's new Constitution and new directors, formally representing each of the 8 federations.

The directors are drawn from National Premier League (NPL) clubs and will guide the organisation through its next phase. The inaugural directors will step down at the AGM

"This is the next step for the AAFC in achieving the objectives we set for ourselves in our inaugural national meeting in March. A great deal of work has been covered by our initial directors, steering committee and national delegates. I would like to thank them all for their diligence and hard work," said Tom Kalas, chairman of the steering committee formed to manage the establishment of the AAFC.

The 8 directors nominated by each federation to be appointed after the adoption of the new Constitution are:

ACT Jon Thiele NSW Gino Marra NNSW Christo Patsan QLD Rabieh Krayem SA Amin Ayoubi TAS Victoria Morton VIC Dean Hennessey WA Gary Marocchi

Collectively, the NPL clubs have coverage of more than 30,000 registered players of semi-professional and amateur status, with responsibility for management of significant community assets through boutique football facilities and sporting infrastructure. They play a crucial role within the football framework developed by FFA and implemented by the state federations. The AAFC is charged with representing them in their dealings with the governing bodies.

The Annual General Meeting will be held on 3 July.

In 2017 the NPL clubs of Australia considered it necessary to form an organisation to represent their common interests as NPL clubs. This is particularly the case in light of discussions regarding changes to the FFA governance model.

ABOUT THE ASSOCIATION OF AUSTRALIAN FOOTBALL CLUBS

The NPL clubs form the second tier of Australian football. They represent:



ASSOCIATION OF AUSTRALIAN FOOTBALL CLUBS

Level 1, 401 Malvern Road South Yarra VIC 3141

e: assoc.FCA@gmail.com

w: www.australianfootballclubs.org.au

- the largest segment of elite and developing elite footballers both male and female;
- a specific and discrete segment of the game as structured by FFA;
- management of Australia's significant football land and infrastructure holdings;
- a plethora of highly credentialed football administrators;
- a pivotal contributor to the fabric of the football community; and
- they include the clubs from which it is envisaged a new second division, fully integrated with the A-League, will be established.

We are of the view that a second division is essential for the future, long-term development of the game, as well as for Australia to meet FIFA and AFC requirements.

BACKGROUNDER

WA: Gary Marocchi

Past Socceroo, NSL player, State League coach & NSL coach, & now President of NPL club Perth SC. Over 50 years of active involvement in the game as a player, coach & administrator. Managing owner of structural engineering consultancy MEG for 30 years.

QLD: Rabieh Krayem

Inaugural CEO of the North Queensland Cowboys and interim CEO of North Queensland Fury in the A-League, Rabieh has more than 30 years experience in professional and amateur sport. He has been chairman of NPL club, Northern Fury, for five years; is Managing Director of a recruitment services company, and on the Board of Stadiums Queensland.

NNSW: Christo Patsan

Company Director, Chartered Accountant, and management consultant for 35 years in Australia and globally to major multinational companies. Former player and referee, and continuing as a matchday volunteer and NPL Club Chairman with over 45 years of involvement in football.

ACT: Jon Thiele

25 years of sports administration experience across multiple sports, including more than 10 of those as President of an NPL club. Now a HR professional within the federal government, following a career of more than 20 years in the Australian Defence Force, Jon has a proven track record in leading, enhancing and generating positive results.

NSW: Gino Marra

CEO of Potentia Capital Financial, a commercial lender and advisor managing mortgage assets in excess of \$300 million. A director of numerous Property Trusts involved in design, construction and management. Secretary of Southern Districts Soccer Football Association (SDSFA) and its NPL Football Team SD Raiders FC. SDSFA has 9,000 registered players and has 5 NPL teams in its association playing in NPL 1,2 & 3.

TAS: Victoria Morton

National Premier League President for the past 8 years. Football and Sport Administrator. Businesswoman. President of Hobart's largest Junior Football Association with 3500 players. Over 20 years experience in Tasmanian football.



ASSOCIATION OF AUSTRALIAN FOOTBALL CLUBS

Level 1, 401 Malvern Road South Yarra VIC 3141

e: assoc.FCA@gmail.com

w: www.australianfootballclubs.org.au

SA: Amin Ayoubi

Current Chairman of a South Australian NPL club. Has liaised with the Asian Football Confederation in international tournaments. Has played football and coached clubs in addition to over 20 years of football administration experience. A successful businessman in the private sector who has also worked with government to secure facilities funding for football infrastructure.

VIC: Dean Hennessey

A well-respected radio football journalist/commentator on the Macquarie Network. Has played professional football in the UK, USA & Australia with over 250 league games in Victoria. Worked as Senior Coach & Technical Director for various Victorian NPL clubs. A successful businessman that has worked in marketing, logistics and the development of sports programmes.

ENDS

Further information: Tom Kalas, 0419 99 66 45

For further information about our objectives, see www.australianfootballclubs.org.au

Copy to:

Mr. Luca Nicola, Manager, Member Associations, FIFA,

Mr. Ravi Kumar, Asian Football Confederation

Mr. David Gallop, Football Federation Australia

Mr. Anter Isaac, President Football New South Wales

Mr. Kimon Taliadoros, President Football Federation Victoria

Mr. Bill Walker, President, Northern NSW Football

Mr. Sam Ciccarello, President, Football Federation South Australia

Mr. Greg Redington, President, Football Queensland

Mr. Mark O'Neill, President, Capital Football

Mr. Sean Collins, President, Football Federation Tasmania

Mr. Liam Twigger, Chairman, Football West

Mr. Stuart Kenny, President, Football Federation Northern Territory

Mr. Greg Griffin, Chairman, APFCA

Mr. John Didulica, CEO, Professional Footballers Australia